News: 2022


Joshua A. Frieman, Chair of the Department of Astronomy & Astrophysics

July 1, 2022

The appointment of Joshua A. Frieman, Professor, as chair of the Department of Astronomy & Astrophysics, effective July 1, 2022 through June 30, 2025.


Adina Feinstein will receive William Rainey Harper Dissertation Fellowship

June 7, 2022

Adina’s dissertation is on a multi-wavelength investigation of young stellar and planetary systems, supervised by Jacob Bean.

Rebecca Diesing will receive William Rainey Harper Dissertation Fellowship

June 7, 2022

Rebecca’s dissertation is on the acceleration and astrophysical impact of galactic cosmic rays, supervised by Damiano Caprioli.

Congratulations to Dr. Rostom Mbarek

June 1, 2022

Congratulations to Rostom Mbarek for successfully defending his Ph.D. dissertation on “Particle Acceleration, Propagation, and Detection: A Journey from the Kinetic Structure of Plasma Physics to Particle Transport on Cosmic Scales”

“Donald G. York to receive 2022 George Van Biesbroeck Prize from the American Astronomical Society”, UChicago News by Maureen McMahon

June 1, 2022

The American Astronomical Society has announced that it will present its 2022 George Van Biesbroeck Prize to Donald G. York, the Horace B. Horton Professor Emeritus, Department of Astronomy and Astrophysics, Enrico Fermi Institute, and the College. The award is presented biannually and honors a living individual for long-term extraordinary or unselfish service to astronomy.


Congratulations to Dr. Huanqing Chen

May 27, 2022

Congratulations to Huanqing Chen for successfully defending her Ph.D. dissertation on “Probing Cosmic Reionization with Quasar Proximity Zones” (PhD Advisor: Nick Gnedin)

Rostom Mbarek won a Nathan Sugarman Award

May 26, 2022

Congratulations to Rostom Mbarek, graduate student, for winning a 2022 Nathan Sugarman Award for Excellence in Undergraduate and Graduate Student Research.

Congratulations to Edward “Rocky” Kolb

May 24, 2022

Edward "Rocky" Kolb, Arthur Holly Compton Distinguished Service Professor in the Department of Astronomy and Astrophysics, the David N. Schramm Director of the Kavli Institute for Cosmological Physics, receives a Arthur L. Kelly Faculty Prize for Exceptional Service on June 4.

Congratulations to Anirudh Chiti

May 18, 2022

Anirudh Chiti won a  2021 IAU PhD Prize

Congratulations to Megan Mansfield

May 18, 2022

Megan Mansfield won a  2021 IAU PhD Prize

Congratulations to Zhijie Qu

May 18, 2022

Zhijie Qu won a  2021 IAU PhD Prize

“Astronomers reveal first image of the black hole at the heart of our galaxy”, UChicago News by Louise Lerner

May 12, 2022

South Pole Telescope, UChicago scientists help take historic image of Milky Way’s supermassive black hole.

Congratulations to Joshua A. Frieman

May 3, 2022

Josh Frieman elected to the National Academy of Sciences


“Supernova forensics: Eight years later, an explosion far out in space is still revealing secrets about the lives of stars”, UChicago News

April 27, 2022

Study including University of Chicago researchers analyzes aftermath of 2014 supernova

Associate Professor Jeff McMahon named co-spokesperson for the CMB-S4, PSD News

April 21, 2022

PSD scientist named co-spokesperson for international science collaboration mapping remnant light from the Big Bang.