John Carlstrom has been awarded the Dannie Heineman Prize for Astrophysics

January 11, 2024

John E. Carlstrom, winner of the 2024 Dannie Heineman Prize for Astrophysics

Carlstrom was selected “for pioneering work on microwave interferometry and his leading role in the development of the South Pole Telescope, leading to the observations of clusters of galaxies through the Sunyaev-Zeldovich effect, B-Mode polarization in the cosmic microwave background and strong evidence for a flat universe, all of which changed the field for generations to come.”

“AIP congratulates Dr. Carlstrom for this achievement and his inspired work investigating the cosmic microwave background to shed light on the conditions of the early universe,” said Michael Moloney, chief executive officer of AIP. “His innovative observation strategies have paved the way for a deeper understanding of the evolution of the cosmos.”

Read more

Related News

Awards, Faculty