News: 2024


Simons Observatory Begins Hunt for Echoes of the Big Bang in Universe’s Oldest Light

June 5, 2024

The observatory’s four telescopes will make the most precise measurements ever taken of the cosmic microwave background and reveal information about what happened just after the universe’s birth

Congratulations to the Class of 2024!

June 4, 2024

Rohan GuptA, Jamar Sullivan, Jonah Medoff, Ariel Barnea, Raul Teixeira, Kabelo Tsiane, Marie Tagliavia, Audrey Scott, Riley Rosener, Nikita Munsif, Megan Zhao, Kyla Mullaney, Helen Tan



Abigail Lee and Hanjue Zhu won the 2024 Price Prize in Cosmology and Astrophysics

May 30, 2024

CCAPP is proud to announce Abigail Lee (U. Chicago) and Hanjue Zhu (U. Chicago) as the winners of the 2024 Price Prize in Cosmology and Astrophysics

Wendy Freedman has been awarded the Georges Lemaître International Prize

May 30, 2024

Prof. Freedman is a Canadian-American cosmologist at the University of Chicago who works in the area of refining measurement of the Hubble Constant. She is renowned for her work on Cepheid variable stars through a Hubble Space Telescope Key Project. Her work and accomplishments are closely connected to the big-bang theory of Georges Lemaître.

Atop a Chilean mountain, undergraduate students make cutting-edge astronomical observations, UChicago News

May 28, 2024

UChicago students conduct research at Magellan Observatory as part of new field course

John Carlstrom has been awarded the Arthur L. Kelly Faculty Prize for Exceptional Service in the PSD

May 22, 2024

John Carlstrom, Subramanyan Chandrasekhar Distinguished Service Professor in the Departments of Astronomy & Astrophysics and Physics, the Enrico Fermi Institute, and the College, receives this prize in recognition of his critical contributions to the Physical Sciences Division and the continued success of both academic departments.

Ava Polzin won the audience prize in UChicagoGRAD’s Thesis competition

May 21, 2024

Ava Polzin, Astronomy and Astrophysics “The Smallest Pieces of the Puzzle: Using Dwarf Galaxies to Understand the Universe”


Congratulations to Dr. Zhuowen (Ben) Zhang

April 26, 2024

Congratulations to Zhuowen (Ben) Zhang for successfully defending his Ph.D. dissertation on "Forward modeling of cluster systematics for cluster cosmology".

Congratulations to Dr. Mandy Chen

April 23, 2024

Congratulations to Mandy Chen for successfully defending her Ph.D. dissertation on "Toward a Physical Understanding of the Dynamic Circumgalactic Medium"

Congratulations to Dr. Jason Poh

April 22, 2024

Congratulations to Jason Poh for successfully defending his Ph.D. dissertation on "Strong Gravitational Lensing Science in the Era of Large Astronomical Surveys".

Congratulations to alumni!

April 18, 2024

Congratulations to alumni Will Cerny (BS, 2022; graduate student at Yale) and Sadie Seddon-Stettler (BS, 2022; graduate student at Cornell) for their National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship Awards.

Congratulations Astro Students!

April 16, 2024

Audrey Scott (BS, 2024) has been awarded a National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship.

Jason Wu (BS, 2025) has been awarded a DAAD summer Research Internship in Science and Engineering (RISE) with the Multiphase Gas Group at the Max Planck Institute for Astrophysics in Germany.

Congratulations to Dr. Maya Mallaby-Kay

April 12, 2024

Congratulations to Maya Mallaby-Kay for successfully defending her Ph.D. dissertation on "Probing the Large Scale Structure of our Universe with the Atacama Cosmology Telescope".

Congratulations to Dr. Andrea Bryant

April 10, 2024

Congratulations to Andrea Bryant for successfully defending her Ph.D. dissertation on "HYPOTHETICAL ICY MOON SEISMIC PROFILES FOR COMPARISON TO FUTURE SEISMIC DATA"

Rafael Luque and Lily Zhao were awarded NASA Hubble Fellowships

April 2, 2024

Rafael Luque  "Understanding the origin and nature of sub-Neptunes" and Lily Zhao "Enabling Radial Velocity Detection of Earth-Twins Through Data-Driven Algorithms and Community Collaboration"