News: Awards


Congratulations to Prof. Daniel Fabrycky!

December 5, 2022

Dan Fabrycky has been promoted from Associate Professor to Professor in the Department of Astronomy & Astrophysics and the College.

“Student uses NASA data to reveal new details on planets in other solar systems”, UChicago News, by Louise Lerner

November 7, 2022

Study by Jared Siegel, UChicago ’22, sets upper limits on the masses of 50 exoplanets.

Congratulations to Harper Learmonth!

November 7, 2022

Harper Learmonth has been selected as a 2022-2023 Quad Faculty Research Grant recipient to serve as an undergraduate research assistant with Professor Rogers.

“Discovering the highest energy particles from the top of the Greenland Ice Sheet”, PSD spotlight

October 27, 2022

Prof. Abigail Vieregg and her students build instruments to detect the highest energy neutrinos.

Congratulations to Abigail Vieregg

October 27, 2022

Abigail Vieregg received a Moore Foundation Experimental Physics Investigators Initiative Award for instrumentation development to advance the detection of the highest energy neutrinos.

Leslie Rogers won a 2022 Scialog Collaborative Innovation Award

October 3, 2022

Research Corporation for Science Advancement, the Heising-Simons Foundation, The Kavli Foundation and NASA are announcing awards totaling $1,045,000 to eight multidisciplinary teams of researchers from institutions across the United States and Canada in the second year of Scialog: Signatures of Life in the Universe. Each of the 19 individual awards is $55,000.

Donna Elbert is receiving recognition for her work with Subrahmanyan Chandrasekhar

September 18, 2022

Donna worked for many years as a calculator for Subrahmanyan Chandrasekhar and as a department administrator.

UChicago Alumnus Professor Arnab Rai Choudhuri selected as 9th Laureate of Chandrasekhar Prize of Plasma Physics

September 12, 2022

Professor Arnab Rai Choudhuri has been selected as the 9th (2022) Laureate of the Subrahmanyan Chandrasekhar Prize of Plasma Physics, which is awarded to scientists who have made seminal or pioneering contributions in the field of plasma physics.

“Donald G. York honored for ‘exceptional vision’ in helping to found the Sloan Digital Sky Survey”, UChicago News, by Maureen McMahon

July 19, 2022

Eminent UChicago astronomer to receive 2022 George Van Biesbroeck Prize from the American Astronomical Society

Adina Feinstein will receive William Rainey Harper Dissertation Fellowship

June 7, 2022

Adina’s dissertation is on a multi-wavelength investigation of young stellar and planetary systems, supervised by Jacob Bean.

Rebecca Diesing will receive William Rainey Harper Dissertation Fellowship

June 7, 2022

Rebecca’s dissertation is on the acceleration and astrophysical impact of galactic cosmic rays, supervised by Damiano Caprioli.

“Donald G. York to receive 2022 George Van Biesbroeck Prize from the American Astronomical Society”, UChicago News by Maureen McMahon

June 1, 2022

The American Astronomical Society has announced that it will present its 2022 George Van Biesbroeck Prize to Donald G. York, the Horace B. Horton Professor Emeritus, Department of Astronomy and Astrophysics, Enrico Fermi Institute, and the College. The award is presented biannually and honors a living individual for long-term extraordinary or unselfish service to astronomy.

Rostom Mbarek won a Nathan Sugarman Award

May 26, 2022

Congratulations to Rostom Mbarek, graduate student, for winning a 2022 Nathan Sugarman Award for Excellence in Undergraduate and Graduate Student Research.

Congratulations to Edward “Rocky” Kolb

May 24, 2022

Edward "Rocky" Kolb, Arthur Holly Compton Distinguished Service Professor in the Department of Astronomy and Astrophysics, the David N. Schramm Director of the Kavli Institute for Cosmological Physics, receives a Arthur L. Kelly Faculty Prize for Exceptional Service on June 4.

Congratulations to Anirudh Chiti

May 18, 2022

Anirudh Chiti won a  2021 IAU PhD Prize