UChicago Alumnus Professor Arnab Rai Choudhuri selected as 9th Laureate of Chandrasekhar Prize of Plasma Physics

September 12, 2022

Prof. Arnab Rai Choudhuri

The Division of Plasma Physics under the Association of Asia Pacific Physical Societies has selected Professor Arnab Rai Choudhuri of the IISc (Indian Institute of Science), Bengaluru as the 9th (2022) Laureate of Subrahmanyan Chandrasekhar Prize of Plasma Physics. The prize is awarded to scientists who have made seminal or pioneering contributions in the field of plasma physics.

Citations - "For the key role in developing the flux transport solar dynamomodel of the 11-year sunspot cycle, and for using this model to provide theoretical explanations of many solar phenomena, as well as the first successful dynamo-based prediction of a sunspot cycle."

Arnab Rai Choudhuri earned his PhD at the University of Chicago in 1985 working under the supervision of Professor Eugene Parker.

Related News