News: Awards


Richard Kron named AAS Fellow

January 5, 2022

Professor Emeritus Richard Kron in the University of Chicago Department of Astronomy and Astrophysics has been named 2022 American Astronomical Society Fellows. The AAS Fellows program was established in 2019 to recognize AAS members for their contributions toward the Society's mission of enhancing and sharing humanity's scientific understanding of the universe.  


Prof. Eugene Parker accepts prestigious Crafoord Prize in Astronomy

November 18, 2021

Congratulations to Emily Gilbert

October 5, 2021

Emily Gilbert has received the NASA/GSPC Robert H. Goddard Award - Science.

Congratulations to Zhuowen Zhang

September 21, 2021

Zhuowen Zhang has received the Prize for the Best Poster at the Fermilab Users Meeting in August, on DES galaxy cluster research.

Congratulations to Chihway Chang, Brian Nord, and Lindsey Bleem

May 27, 2021

Congratulation to the winners of the Department of Energy Early Career Awards:  Chihway Chang, Brian Nord, and Lindsey Bleem.


“UChicago announces 2021 winners of Quantrell and Graduate Teaching Awards”, UChicago News

May 26, 2021

Prof. Daniel Fabrycky received a Faculty Award for Excellence in Graduate Teaching and Mentorship

Congratulations to Gourav Khullar

May 4, 2021

Gourav Khullar, graduate student,  has been awarded a Physical Sciences Teaching Prize for 2020-2021.

Congratulations to Angela Olinto

April 26, 2021

Angela Olinto has been elected to the American Academy of  Arts & Sciences and to to the National Academy of Sciences.

PSD climate grants foster belonging while socially distanced

April 14, 2021

A safe space for EDI in A&A: Back in 2017, a group of graduate students and postdocs from the Department of Astronomy & Astrophysics and the Kavli Institute for Cosmological Physics created IDEA, or Inclusion, Diversity, and Equity in Astronomy.

Associate Professor Daniel Fabrycky won the Faculty Award for Excellence in Graduate Teaching and Mentoring

March 22, 2021

Dan Fabrycky has been selected as a winner of the Faculty Award for Excellence in Graduate Teaching and Mentoring. Dan will receive the prize and recognition during Convocation Weekend.

Chambliss Astronomy Achievement Student Awards

February 18, 2021

Joshua Frieman & Eugene Parker named Fellows of the American Astronomical Society

February 4, 2021


Graduate students selected for fellowship

December 18, 2020

John Carlstrom named 2020 AAAS Fellow

November 25, 2020

James Truran awarded 2021 Hans Bethe Prize

October 8, 2020